O'Brien County Community Foundation Awards Local Grants


Doug Negus and Carolyn Rohrbaugh accept grant funds from O'Brien County Foundation to help support O'Brien County Cemetery Preservation Association.

The O'Brien County Community Foundation (OBCCF), an affiliate of the Siouxland Community Foundation, awarded grants to totaling over $106,000 to nonprofit organizations and units of local government in support of projects throughout O'Brien County. Due to social distancing restrictions a grant presentation was not held this year. Local advisory board members presented grant checks to the individual organizations. Since the first grants were made in 2006, over $1.3 million has been awarded.

"These grants help support our emergency services, better our quality of life in O'Brien County and fund many other worthwhile projects and services. Residents can see the benefits in a wide range of projects, " says Charlene Elyea, Advisory Chair.

The following grants were awarded by the O'Brien County Community Foundation:


Project Title


archer Fire Department

Bunker Gear Purchase


Calumet Fire Department

Needs One Set


Calumet Girls Little League Softball

Light Up the Skies


City of Sheldon - Recreation Department

Sheldon Sports Complex Batting Cages


Cornerstone Senior Communities of Remsen

Outdoor Deck Covering


Foster Grandparent Program

Volunteer Service Support


Grant Township Trustees

Covey Church Preservation and Enhancement


Granville Fire and EMS Association

Rescue Equipment


hartley Community Daycare

Revamping Security and Cost Efficiency


hartley United Methodist Community Christian Preschool

Primary Preschool Classroom Replenishment


hartley Volunteer Fire Department

Self-Contained Breathing Apparatuses


Kids Express Daycare

Bathroom Repair/Concrete work


Kids Kampus

Flooring and Bathroom Remodel


Little Sioux Valley Conservation Association

Prairie Heritage Center Experience Trail


Love INC of Greater O'Brien County

Shop with the Cop


O'Brien County Cemetery Preservation Association

Pioneer Cemetery Signage


O'Brien County Conservation Board

Water Recreation Launching System


Paullina Fire Department

Fire Hose & Foam Nozzle


Primghar Ambulance Team

UV Sanitation Equipment


Primghar Community Building

Handicap Door Openers


Primghar Fire Department

Replace Grass/Attack Truck


sanborn EMS

EMS Equipment and Mobile Radio


sanborn Fire & Rescue

SCBA Tank Fill-Station


Saving Grace Daycare Center

Fire Code Updates


Senior Companion Program

Volunteer Service Support


Sheldon Community Ambulance

Radio Upgrade 2020


Sutherland Remembers When Society

Window Shades and UV protection


Wonderland Theater

Bathroom Enlargement for Handicap Accessible


The OBCCF was formally established in 2005 through affiliation with the Siouxland Community Foundation and is governed by a local advisory board composed of representatives from each of the communities in O'Brien County: archer, Calumet, hartley, Paullina, Primghar, sanborn, Sheldon, and Sutherland; as well as one county-at-large member.

The mission of the O'Brien County Community Foundation is to enhance the quality of life in the communities served by encouraging permanent charitable giving to meet the needs of present and future generations. OBCCF welcomes gifts of any size to the endowment to help fund O'Brien County projects.

Charlene Elyea (L) accepts foundation grants on behalf of O'Brien County Conservation Board and Little Sioux Valley Conservation. The grant was presented by Denise Steffens.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019