O'Brien County's Bell-Times-Courier -

Sheldon/South O'Brien has to settle for 1-1 night at triangular


January 16, 2020

Vanessa Rohwer

Josh Simm wrestles Woodbury Central's Levi Davis in the 220 lb weight class. Josh Simm won by fall over Levi Davis in 1:46.

Sheldon/South O'Brien hosted a wrestling triangular January 9 at Paullina. The Orabs picked up a convincing 72-11 victory over OA-BCIG and tied Woodbury Central before the host team had a point deducted from the team total for having a wrestler with straps down on the mat. That left the Wildcats with a 36-35 win.

The four Sheldon/South O'Brien grapplers to record pins in the win over OA-BCIG were Osvaldo Ocampo at 113 pounds, Cason Johannes at 138, Evan Ball at 170 and Micah Davis at 182. An additional eight Orabs won by forfeit.

Winning by fall in the Woodbury Central dual were Davis once again, Wilson Millan at 160 pounds, Josh Simm at 220 and TK Lang at 285. Ocampo earned a 15-0 win by technical fall. Gavin Leng picked up a 10-0 major decision at 145 pounds and Coy De Boer won a 10-6 decision at 106.

Sheldon/S. O'Brien 72, OA-BCIG 11

195-Carter Wohlert won by injury time over Izaiah Ironshell.

220-Josh Simm won by forfeit.

285-TK Lang won by forfeit.

106-Coy De Boer won by forfeit.

113-Osvaldo Ocampo won by fall over Beau Nieman in 1:36.

120-Sheldon/S. O'Brien forfeit.

126-Peter Hamill won by forfeit.

132-Danny Pimentel won by forfeit.

138-Cason Johannes won by fall over Landon Veit in 3:21.

145-Gavin Leng lost by technical fall (19-2) to Jake Nieman in 5:59.

152-Laine Abraham-Klein won by forfeit.

160-Wilson Millan won by forfeit.

170-Evan Ball won by fall over Zach Hemer in 1:45.

182-Micah Davis won by fall over Gavin Parks in 1:16.

Woodbury Central 36, Sheldon/S. O'Brien 35

220-Josh Simm won by fall over Levi Davis in 1:46.

285-TK Lang won by fall over John Groetken in 1:39.

106-Coy De Boer won a 10-6 decision over Ryder Koele.

113-Osvaldo Ocampo won by technical fall (15-0) over Gunnar Vohs in 2:52.

120-Sheldon/S. O'Brien forfeit.

126-Peter Hamill lost by fall to Beau Klingensmith in :44.

132-Danny Pimentel lost a 6-3 decision to Tristen Jessen.

138-Cason Johannes lost by fall to Max McGill in 3:37.

145-Gavin Leng won a 10-0 major decision over Kyan Schultzen.

152-Laine Abraham-Klein lost by fall to Jaden Hamman in 4:31.

160-Wilson Millan won by fall over Brayden Sanford in 3:57.

170-Evan Ball lost by fall to Nate Monahan in 3:15.

182-Micah Davis won by fall over Andrew Martens in :50.

195-Carter Wohlert lost an 8-5 decision to Mycha James.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019